The Williamson Family Colloquium Series

2018
Title/Speaker Date
Conservation Paleobiology of Long Island Sound Mollusks
Dr. Michelle Casey, Murray State University
Friday, September 7, 2018 3:00pm
Virtual fossils, rocks, and Cambrian clocks
Sarah Jacquet, University of Missouri
Friday, September 21, 2018 3:00pm
The Science Behind Exploration Targeting: Bridging the Industry-Academia Gap
Dr. Marek Locmelis, University of Missouri S&T
Friday, September 28, 2018 3:00pm
Careers in Geosciences: Employment Trends, Marketable Skills, and Strategies for Job Seekers
Aaron Johnson, American Institute for Professional Geologist
Friday, October 12, 2018 3:00pm
From single-event dynamics to multicycle dynamics of geometrically complex faults
Dr. Benchun Duan
Friday, October 19, 2018 3:00pm
Using diffusion in tektites to investigate plume dynamics
Dr. Catherine Macris, IUPUI
Friday, October 26, 2018 3:00pm
On the Eve of the Cambrian Explosion
Dr. Shuhai Xiao, Virginia Tech
Friday, November 30, 2018 3:00pm
2019
Title/Speaker Date
Addressing ancient questions through modern visualization techniques using µCT
Dr. Tara Selly, UM Geological Sciences
Friday, January 25, 2019 3:00pm
A decade in the trenches: striving for active learning in geoscience undergraduate courses
Dr. Miriam Barquero-Molina, University of Missouri Geological Sciences
Friday, March 8, 2019 3:00pm
U-Pb zircon geochronology of calc-alkaline ash-flow tuff units in the Mogollon-Datil volcanic field, southern New Mexico
Gary Michelfelder, Missouri State University
Friday, March 15, 2019 3:00pm
Understanding faults: a geochemical approach
Brice LaCroix, Kansas State University
Friday, April 5, 2019 3:00pm
Diagentic Phosphate, Tiny Fossils, and the Uneven Sedimentary Record of Time; A case study from the midcontinent Upper Ordovician
Benjamin Dattilo, Purdue University Fort Wayne
Friday, April 12, 2019 3:00pm
Construction and Deconstruction of the 2360 BP Volcanic Dam at Mount Meager, British Columbia, Canada
Graham Andrews, West Virginia University
Friday, April 19, 2019 3:00pm
Mantle Anisotropy and Topography of the 410 and 660 km Discontinuities Beneath the Contiguous United States
Kelly Liu, Univeristy of Missouri S&T
Friday, April 26, 2019 3:00pm
New Mechanisms for Lunar Drift and Plate Tectonics
Anne Hofmeister, Washington University in St. Louis
Friday, May 3, 2019 3:00pm