The Williamson Family Colloquium Series

2017
Title/Speaker Date
The Paleontological Society Distinguished Lecturer Why We Need Conservation Paleobiology: Just Ask Johnny Depp
Dr. Patricia Kelley, UNC Wilmington
Thursday, September 14, 2017 3:00pm
Geologic breakthroughs in oil & gas development
Martin Krueger, ConocoPhillips
Friday, September 15, 2017 3:00pm
Measuring the Decadal Buildup to Megathrust Earthquakes in Japan
Dr. Kaj Johnson, University of Indiana
Friday, September 29, 2017 3:00pm
Taphonomy and paleontology
Dr. Karen Koy, Missouri Western State University
Friday, November 10, 2017 3:00pm
2018
Title/Speaker Date
Water sustainability challenges in the Southeastern U.S.
David Borrok, University of Missouri S & T
Friday, January 19, 2018 3:00pm
Missed Connection: Ignimbrite Seeking Plutonic Relationship
Drew Coleman, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Friday, February 2, 2018 3:00pm
Hydrothermal alteration of the oceanic lithosphere and beyond
Hector Lamadrid, University of Toronto
Wednesday, February 7, 2018 3:00pm
Unraveling crustal formation under the ocean
Chenguang Sun, Rice University
Monday, February 12, 2018 3:00pm
Early episodes of high-pressure core formation preserved in plume mantle
Colin Jackson, National Museum of Natural History, The Smithsonian Institution
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 3:00pm
Tectonic and Topographic Evolution of the Central Tibetan Plateau
Lin Li, University of Texas at Arlington
Monday, February 19, 2018 3:00pm
From Crusts to Cores: Investigating Asteroids Using Meteorites
Nicole Lunning, National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution
Monday, February 26, 2018 3:00pm
Beyond elasticity: How faults deform the lithosphere and interact with each other
Johanna Nevitt, US Geological Survey
Monday, March 5, 2018 3:00pm
Refining the space-time strain path of the central Basin and Range through low-temperature thermochronology: Implications for dynamic controls on Cenozoic intraplate deformation
Tandis Bidgoli, University of Kansas
Wednesday, March 7, 2018 3:00pm
Evolutionary ecology and functional morphology of Ediacaran communities
Dr. Simon A.F. Darroch, Vanderbilt University
Friday, March 16, 2018 3:00pm
Using modern Fe-oxidizing microbes to unravel the evolutionary and geologic history of Fe oxidation
Clara Chan, University of Delaware/MSA Distinguished Lecturer
Friday, April 6, 2018 3:00pm
Investigation of Mount St. Helens earthquakes and magma plumbing with a hybrid natural and controlled source seismic survey
Dr. Brandon Schmandt, GeoPRISMS Distinguished Lecturer from University of New Mexico
Friday, April 13, 2018 3:00pm